Jumpdrives & Cantrips


Excitement!

Anyone who’s been following my entries probably knows I’ve been waiting in anticipation for any Elizabeth Moon news since I heard tell that she’d be returning to the Paks universe, and The Swivet had this little gem about the sale of the new books:

Elizabeth Moon’s KING KIERI, set directly in the aftermath of the author’s “Deed of Paksenarrion” series, describing the struggles of a new king to reunite a land torn asunder by war and riven by resurgent conflict between elves and man, to Liz Scheier at Del Rey, in a significant deal, in a three-book deal (for a likely trilogy), for publication in October 2009, by Joshua Bilmes at JABberwocky Literary Agency (NA).

Haven’t seen much mention of this anywhere else online yet, including Moon’s own site. La Gringa also mentioned that A. Lee Martinez’ In the Company of Ogres (see my review here) has had film rights optioned to the same people involved in The Simpson’s Movie and Futurama. The story could make for a truly excellent movie, depending on how they interpret it… (see The Swivet’s full post here).

Also, for those keeping up with Canada Reads 2008 sadly Nalo Hopkinson‘s Brown Girl in the Ring did not win out. However, congrats to Paul Quarrington’s King Leary, which is apparently a humourous read, if not a speculative one.

OF Blog of the Fallen makes some interesting points about reviews that I don’t fully agree with, but are good to think about nonetheless. The comments are also thought-provoking. I’m thinking about writing more about why I do reviews and how I think about them at a later date. Which brings me to the fact that I’m always open to constructive criticism–I may not follow it, but I certainly appreciate when people give me feedback on the reviews and writing itself, so go to if you feel inclined. (I promise I won’t be too hurt, I might just lick my wounds for a few days before responding 😉 )

And in other news via the CBC, robots equally effective as dogs in curbing loneliness and spotlight on Pseudomonas-infected snow.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Hey, Sarah!

thanks for adding me to your link list — I like your blog, tres cool, you’re on my blogroll, too.

I probably won’t be by all the time — I’m forgetful, not lazy!, but I’ll end up doing my usual flurry of comments and linkage-love when I do remember! 🙂

Cheers, Sarah,
~Chris

Comment by Chris (The Book Swede)




Leave a Reply

