Jumpdrives & Cantrips


Yay! Return of Tidbits!

I realised that I really haven’t been doing tidbits all that much lately in terms of news stuff, but to be entirely honest, not all that much has grabbed my attention lately. Though Charlton Heston’s death made me ponder whether it was in poor taste to title a post Soylent Guy Dies! followed by a semi-cannibalistic comment. In the end, as you can see, I decided against. (Soylent Tidbits for Your Consumption was very tempting, though…)

  • Martha WellsThe Element of Fire is available free with lots of nice info, if you click on the title. That led me to discover that ManyBooks.net also has books by lots of other popular authors (Charles Stross, Cory Doctorow, Tobias Buckell, John Scalzi) and lots of classic SF names (Andre Norton, Edgar Rice Burroughs, Jules Verne, James H. Schmitz, E. E. “doc” Smith–I could go on and on). Not to mention all the fairy tale and folklore resources up there for anyone researching such things (Grimms complete plus many of the Andrew Lang fairy books). But I think you should go check out all these free reads! That’s only a sampling of two categories! Massive, I say–massive! And in multiple formats… Seriously, go check it out.
  • Amy Long is an artist who created crocheted and knitted tentacle-like pieces for her MFA thesis exhibit. See a slideshow on her Flickr site. To me the pieces look a little like genitalia, but so do lots of tentacle-like things… (via io9). Brings a whole new meaning to squidpunk.
  • And speaking of squidpunk, Jeff Vandermeer is not joking about the anthology. This makes me a little nostalgic, since I used to have a truly awesome squid keychain and for the longest time I was the only person I knew who liked squid (especially deep-fried and eaten). However, I do have my doubts about reading squid books. They might eat me
  • For those who enjoy the Liaden books by Sharon Lee and Steve Miller there should be much happiness. 1. Ace books is reprinting the Liaden books–all 10 of them. And, 2. they sold another Liaden universe book to Baen. Now, I haven’t read this series, but I have rabid friends who are fans–er, rabid fans who are friends (via SF Scope).

In any case, I’m thoroughly enjoying Ilona Anderson’s Magic Burns so far and it is a very quick read. I also received 2 new review copies from Abaddon Books: one is Leviathan Rising by Jonathan Green (recently reviewed by Graeme) and the second is Shadow Mage by Matthew Sprange (reviewed in March by The Book Swede). Haven’t started them yet, but they look entertaining…

Off to read.

PS: Can you believe the spellcheck doesn’t recognize squidpunk?! Psssht.
2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

free books? green with envy *pouting*

yay for the return of tidbits (x2)

tnx for the free e-book link…I’m gathering links for quite some time now and intend to write an article about that soon. good to have you back on track Sara.

Comment by uroš

What? Not squidpunk? On behalf of boneless sea creatures with hot pink hair-do’s, I am thoroughly insulted.

Comment by Kimber An




Leave a Reply

